Why they say Everything Great lies outside your “Comfort Zone”

Hi, hello, its ME!

Yes, it has been a while. I have been traveling and have been wanting to tell you all the stories and experiences but THIS ONE experience I just had to type in and share it right away.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-15 at 7.31.51 PM

When the sky looks limitless, you feel it too!

My sister had been telling me for weeks to go and do this as she had already done it before. I kept on procrastinating because although I did climb some mountains, trekked, para-glided, but this was something WAYY above that. I mean jumping out of a fairly flying plane is not the best idea of sanity. I was scared. It is not normal. But I wondered and thought to myself, “What could really go wrong?”. Oh well, I did get a huge list of answer to that question while I signed the legal documents today at Sky Dive Rock. The reasons ranged from failure of equipment to failure of the human heart. While I read those out, I was hesitant to go forward with the formalities. The smiling faces and encouraging environment kept me from quitting. So we went up ahead.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-15 at 7.31.52 PM.jpeg

The de-stressing Foosball table 😀

As we were not very sure of the traffic from Madison to Beloit, we had reached earlier than our scheduled appointment. After the small training period, we had almost half an hour, where I de-stressed by playing foosball with my best sister. The other guys who turned up at their rightly scheduled appointment looked at me, who was so carefree by that time and remarked about the same. I am so glad we reached before time to not be so overwhelmed by the videos they showed during that small training.

In Tandem Jumping, you are literally trusting your life on your diver. Howy had a 29 year experience and had also set some world records in this field. He made me feel like a warrior.

My time had come.

WhatsApp Image 2017-06-15 at 7.31.53 PM

Embarking the Magic Carpet

 

As we entered the plane and started flying up, my heart raced. I asked myself why am I doing this again? I have asked this question quite a lot of times this year after I switched my career to become a professional dancer, so it was not a very new question.
I wanted to fight my fears, and believe in myself. To have trust and confidence in someone who is helping me through my journey (my mentors and support system) in life. To dance through difficult situations and have faith that nothing will go wrong. So I sang some Fauji songs (rather screamed but no-one could really hear me,thankfully!). I looked at the view, took it all in, took a deep breath and shut my eyes to calm down.

G0052582.JPG

It was quite a thrilling view

5 minutes before the jump, Howy hooked me on to him. Literally. Yes. That was quite comforting and nerve-wrecking at the same time because the jump was getting nearer but there was someone who I could rely on in case anything went wrong. As I was kneeling, my right leg went numb. I was not really sure about doing this. But I knew if my sister could do it, I could too. Putting my mind back on the positive track, I took deep breaths and watched the pilot give a thumbs up.

1 minute left. Howy opened the door. The wind hit me so hard as I was right next to the door. I wore my glasses. As soon as I took my hand out of the door, it flung up! I realised it was quite cold and windy outside. The moment I put my leg on the step after he did, we jumped. I doubt if I was mentally prepared for it because I was waiting for a signal from him that he had said he would give, which obviously seemed like a trap.

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 9.15.57 PM.png

 

 

We were free falling.

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 9.20.48 PM.png

Bringing some peace to the world;)

I had already thought of doing splits and singing songs and smiling away to glory when I would jump but of course, it did not go as planned. But I did do something instead of just putting my hands up and screaming like a warrior! Most of the time my mouth just could not close because the winds were so damn strong and this new experience was so strong and overwhelming,so most of my pictures look like I am gasping for air but I really wasn’t! Howy let me do crazy turns mid air when we opened our parachute. It felt incredible. It felt great to be just flying and so worry-free. There is a gush of intense emotions throughout your body that leave you drained and so empowered at the same time.

I want to fly. And I know I can. Dance can let me do that.

I just cannot wait to get back and get going with all my goals that I have in mind which got so much of clarity because of this one experience.

And it’s not as scary as I make it sound. Go check that off your bucket list!

Cheers,

EverythingAtOnce

4 thoughts on “Why they say Everything Great lies outside your “Comfort Zone”

  1. Eric Bickel says:

    Thank you for a so well written story of your adventure with us here at Skydive The Rock. Maybe someday you will be able to dance solo in the sky. Hope to see you again.

    The Staff at Skydive The Rock.

    Like

  2. Howy Hensen says:

    “For once you have tasted flight you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skywards, for there you have been and there you will long to return.”
    ~Leonardo da Vinci

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

