Delhi Pride Parade 2018:Of love and inclusion

I was casually chilling with my long lost friends on a Saturday night when I get a call from a dear friend saying that he is coming down to Delhi to be a part of his first Pride Parade and wanted me to join him in. I had never asked him anything about his experiences but I just knew I had to be there no matter what.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-25 at 5.05.10 PM

Supporting the LGBT Pride Community

Like every other time, I was overly open to this new experience completely unaware of what exactly happens in an LGBTQ Parade. Truth be said I was absolutely fine to be around gays and lesbians but wasn’t too sure of transgenders because of not so very happy experiences with them. Sure they won’t be forcing any of us to give them money by taking their blessings,right?

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-25 at 5.05.56 PM (1)

Because, why not?

We reached a little late and immediately fell in love with the vibe. There were people playing dholak,nagadas , even more people dancing their hearts out and celebrating love,life.
There were enthusiastic photographers eager to capture every single moment of this fiesta.It actually turned out to be great, I danced with them,played phugdi (where you hold hands and spin in a circle!) Maybe a part of my resistance towards them subsided just by being around them, observing them in their space where they never meant any harm.

It felt like a cool colourful evening party, But that’s what it meant to me. A mere supporter.

whatsapp-image-2018-11-27-at-1-32-40-pm.jpeg

To them,it was celebrating a part of lawful acceptance-Section 377, if not complete societal acceptance. Just standing amongst them was just so empowering. It made me so happy to see this kind of love. For me love has been unison of two different genders, in the most filmy way. To witness this was something very different and I urge each one of you to experience this once. As a part of the community,my friend, Tushar Bansal , says that it was a true celebration of life-humans celebrating humans.

Arpit Bhalla, who had attended Pride last year  in the city, was happy to share that the participation this year had doubled since last year with more number of people walking without their masks, allowing the world to see their identity openly. As opposed to last year, when he went alone for the pride parade, this year he was accompanied by ten of his straight friends only showing how we have progressed as a country!

A lot of people are not exposed,hence are not very liberal towards these communities. I consider myself lucky to have been brought up in an environment where I have never had issues with the LGBTQ community and being amongst them was a joyous experience.

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-27 at 1.32.27 PM

Someone had to say it out  loud

While India, amoung many other countries has accepted the Pride Community, there are still many countries like Taiwan (a reporter from there asked us to send a message to the community there to encourage them and keep their morale high as they had failed to pass the law that would make them acceptable in the society), which are still struggling to walk freely,without any fear or embarrassment on the roads.

The LGBTQ community in India is still fighting for rights for marriage, adoption, to donate blood among a few basic rights. I can only hope that the presence of  Laxmi Narayan Tripathi, a transgender rights activist, at Delhi Pride Parade 2018 could stir in a political movement strong enough to pass laws for the same.

whatsapp-image-2018-11-27-at-1-32-39-pm.jpeg

Always.

At Delhi Pride Parade 2018 I understood what diversity and vibrancy really mean.
Together, united, the world can be such a beautiful place!

WhatsApp Image 2018-11-25 at 5.40.26 PM

Accept. Align. Allow.  

Each one of us is an art.

Let’s celebrate that everyday, in every way.

Cheers,

EverythingAtOnce

Leave a comment